Friends?

picachu

For a person who believes that she is perceptive, I am a dunce. My friends and I were hanging around at some random place in the college. Suddenly a friend of mine became all offensive and pinching to stop me from taking something and to share it with her. So I snapped and told her to mind her own business. Although that did shut her up, my other friends admonished for being so defensive. It still rings in my head. “Canne! That is not the right thing to do. There is no need to be so defensive. Friends can say stuff to you. And you have to accept it. Just like friends accept friends. It is just a joke. No big deal.” That is when I realized that I was actually blind to the unsaid obvious things around me.

People say friendship is the best thing that happens to a person. And it is said to be even better than falling in love. After all, a person still remains in love with a person after the initial three months only when they manage to be great friends along with lovers. But I have never felt that closeness to anybody. Actually, none but two people. But I believe I was too optimistic then. And we still are the best of friends. Although I do consider them my best friends, I still scoff at friendship. I look at it as just a bunch of people who like each other’s company who get together to spend some time. But I don’t see them forming a close relationship where they share insecurities, real feelings and thoughts with each other. For example I have no idea about what my friend really thinks of things and I know I have never bothered telling her about it.

Although my college is uninteresting and crappy, I realize that here I see emotions flowing in abundance. People fiercely love their friends here. The first time my college friend was ready to come to my rescue although she was miles away from me, I was dumbstruck. I have never had anybody like that. Like they are ready to help you whenever you need help. It is overwhelming to know that someone is there for you. I am starting to realize that friendship is not just about hanging out together or having someone to gush about a crush, it has so many aspects to it. It involves about everything. It has friends knowing the dirtiest secrets you have, and guarding them with their life. It has friends forgiving friends for their silly mistakes. It has friends holding grudges for a while and then dropping them because they cannot live without each other’s company and because it gets sorted out. Friends are the people you go to when you have a falling out with your parents or your partner. Friends are the one you ask the most intimate and uncomfortable questions. They are the ones you goad into doing something and irritate them till they are ready to pull their hair.

Friendship is a very beautiful relationship and is meant to be cherished and maintained forever. I am on my way to appreciate it.

Published by

cannesubhadra

Perception, awareness, comprehension, apprehension, sharpness and a flair is important to gain insights. It is my journey towards that. :)

4 thoughts on “Friends?”

  1. Well, not everyone is as lucky as you or even as perceptive to realize their faults in character. Needless to say, you have some great friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

